Swollen Feet

Our resident Registered Nurse, brandtrn, will answer any specific health care related questions on a time available basis.
Forum rules
Sad but true, there must be a disclaimer!!!
Remember that I am a NURSE, not a doctor. I know a lot, but certainly don't know everything. If you have a health problem or concern, I'll do what I can to help, but please keep the following in mind: any information that I may give you is not intended as "medical" advice, nor is it intended to serve as a substitute for a consultation with your primary care physician.

~ Cindy

Swollen Feet

Postby Toula » 02 Feb 2010, 04:12

Past few weeks, my feet become swollen everyday. Now this would normally only happen to me when in a hot climate. I assume it is some form of water retention that is causing it, and yes, I drink about 2 - 3 litres of water everyday - for me that is normal. Anyway, was at the Doctors last week and mentioned my feet, she just agreed they were very swollen however, never prescribe any form of diuretic, which I though she would have.
As the day goes on, the feet become more painful and feel like I'm squishing about in hot water. I've been eating pears and tomatoes every day as I believe they are a natural form for getting rid of water retention, but obviously have not worked. My problem is that I am going to Spain next Monday, and am worried that they will get worse when I'm there.
So, can you recommend any diuretic which I can buy over the counter, or any herbal or more natural remedy I could take? Also, just to point out, I'm not having any problems with urinating, also, I take tablets for a heart condition, as well as high cholesterol. Was tested for Diabetes, though was told at first I was Type 2, after further tests this is not the case, but I've been diagnosed as having impaired glucose tolerance, - not on any tablets for that.
Many thanks for any advice offered.
Toula

Re: Swollen Feet

Postby pilvikki » 05 Feb 2010, 01:28