I have a rash.

Our resident Registered Nurse, brandtrn, will answer any specific health care related questions on a time available basis.
Forum rules
Sad but true, there must be a disclaimer!!!
Remember that I am a NURSE, not a doctor. I know a lot, but certainly don't know everything. If you have a health problem or concern, I'll do what I can to help, but please keep the following in mind: any information that I may give you is not intended as "medical" advice, nor is it intended to serve as a substitute for a consultation with your primary care physician.

~ Cindy

I have a rash.

Postby MWB » 09 Apr 2011, 16:35

It's on my face for godsake!

First of all, a couple of weeks ago I had a HUGE coldsore on my lip. It was the size of Texas, (looked like an overdose of collagen had been injected into that one part of my lip) & my neck glands were very swollen. About the only thing was the coldsore was in a different place where I usually get the things - which I get once a year or so.

I didn't use anything for the coldsore; remedies usually only hasten the healing process by a day, if that. It's a virus, so there's no cure.

After a few days, it has gone down to nothing but the usual mark it leaves on the lip & it's all good.

But this rash. It started around where the coldsore had been & every day, (overnight) it's spread by a 1/4 inch or so. It's not flaming red, but it's slightly noticeable, is very dry & a bit itchy. It's more uncomfortable & annoying. Yesterday I noticed it broke out on my jaw/neck, under my ears - more so under my left ear. The coldsore had been on my right top lip. So I went to the doctor who said rashes are notoriously hard to diagnose, gave me an antihistamine, (which didn't do anything) & said see how it goes over the next few days.

So is there any topical cream you can suggest for the meantime? I'm using vaseline petroleum jelly, but that's not working.