finger spasms

Our resident Registered Nurse, brandtrn, will answer any specific health care related questions on a time available basis.
Forum rules
Sad but true, there must be a disclaimer!!!
Remember that I am a NURSE, not a doctor. I know a lot, but certainly don't know everything. If you have a health problem or concern, I'll do what I can to help, but please keep the following in mind: any information that I may give you is not intended as "medical" advice, nor is it intended to serve as a substitute for a consultation with your primary care physician.

~ Cindy

finger spasms

Postby pilvikki » 19 Sep 2010, 18:38

i see that you're here, cindy, so i thought i'd ask you about one of my pet peeves of the month:

when i go to grab something with my fingertips, both hands - i think - the fingers tend to spasm and whatever i managed to grab goes flying off. usually it would be something small and then it's a pain in the butt to try to find it.

i've looked up all kinds of shakes and spasms and what have you, but i can't really put my finger on it. erm... sorry. bad pun.

i'm also a bit less stable on my feet, but assume that's from my chronic ear infection.

does this ring any bells?

thanks!

signed;

granny with the DT's. :lol:
pilvikki
Royal Poobah Penguin
Royal Poobah Penguin

Re: finger spasms

Postby brandtrn » 20 Sep 2010, 14:09

Wow...unfortunately, that rings LOTS of bells! There are any number of things that can cause finger spasms, but it'll help me to know a bit more. What are the spasms like? Are they painful, and do your fingers stiffen when this happens, or are they more like tremors? Are you on medications, and, if so, what are they (you can PM me on that one if you prefer)? Have you had any recent injury to your hands? Finally, do you have any diagnosis of any condition that might cause finger spasms, i.e. Raynaud's phenomenon, lupus, scleroderma, etc.? I know, I can be a PIA sometimes, when I have more questions than answers :)
brandtrn